My second Liebster Award is also here!

Standard

What a rush, I can hardly believe it that my second Liebster Award has arrived so soon after the first one, thanks to Prince of Hollywood’s kind nomination! Prepare yourself for some pretty exciting questions that I’m going to answer!

liebsteraward

1. What is your favorite quote from a movie?

“Buck up – never say die! We’ll get along!” – that’s what the Little Tramp says to the Gamin at the end of “Modern Times”.

2. Who do you believe is the most underrated actor/actress in cinema history?

I think Richard Haydn would most certainly deserve to be generally renown. You might not be familiar with his name, but you surely know some of the characters he impersonated such as Professor Oddley in “Ball of Fire” or Max in “The Sound of Music”. He could make his characters so full of life that one can hardly believe they’re played by the same person!

3. Is there an actor/actress that you think is overrated? (Can be past or present)

I’m so very sorry to say this but I just can’t make myself like Richard Gere because of his acting abilities! I have to admit, though, that some of the movies he appeared in are fine pieces!

4. Name a movie you never get tired of watching no matter how many times you’ve seen it.

I think “Hugo” is a movie that I’m going to be able to enjoy as long as I live. This wonderful tribute to silent cinema is what made me meet Harold Lloyd for the first time and fall in love with Parisian railway stations.

5. What is your favorite genre (comedy, romance, drama, etc.) of film and why?

I think I’ll go with comedy, but it’s a very hard to define it properly. The comedy I think of doesn’t have to make me laugh out loud, all I need is a few smiles, likable characters and interesting story-line – what I mean is a kind of feel-good movie.

6. Past or present, what is your favorite TV show?

Last time I mentioned my love for “Lark Rise to Candleford”, so maybe it’s time to point out a series I’ve fallen in love with in the meantime, namely “The Durrells”. It’s a newcomer whose second season has just been announced, so I’m eagerly waiting for that!

7. If you were to star in a movie, who would you want to play your romantic interest?

I think I would be happy with Ingrid Bergman! She is a wonderful actress and also an attractive lady, having a sophisticated style! But I think I would still be more than satisfied if I got Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly as a partner!

8. Since I liked this question: Favorite movie adaptation of a book?

I’d like to mention the one and only movie adaptation that has, in my opinion, improved the qualities of the book it’s based on: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I have absolutely nothing against Roald Dahl, but I think Tim Burton did a better job on the material.

9. What was the last movie you watched?

Since I’ve watched lots of different TV series lately, I think the last movie I’ve seen is the last reviewed here: The Awful Truth. Unless, of course, an episode of the Poirot series with David Suchet can be regarded as a movie.

10. Name a film that left a strong impression on you.

My choice here is “Gone With the Wind”. I was a bit afraid of its length and kept postponing it as I thought it was going to be boring and slow-paced, so it struck me as a huge surprise how wonderfully vivid this movie was! I think it was most impressing to witness half of a lifetime in a couple of hours!

11. And lastly, what film and/or actor made you fall in love with classic film?

I’ve been a fan of Chaplin since I was five years old, so he’s the very first old movie star who caught my attention. Yet it wasn’t until circa one and a half years ago that I became interested in classics on top of the work of silent comedians. It was “Some Like It Hot” that made me first realize that a really good movie doesn’t same outdated even if it was shot half a century ago.


My nominees are bloggers who I didn’t have the chance to nominate last time! Well, you’re not out of the game! I expect to learn a couple of new things about you!

Flickin’ Out

Christina Wehner

The Flapper Dame

The Old Hollywood Garden

Musings of a Classic Film Addict

I hope you’ll have time to answer my questions! Here they are!


  1. Which five actors do you wish had played together in a movie once (it’s not a problem if they didn’t live at the same time)?
  2. Which movie do you think should never have made it into AFI’s top 100 list?
  3. Whose life would you like to see a biographical movie on?
  4. Which completed TV series do you wish had another season?
  5. How early do you start writing an entry for a blogathon?
  6. Which movie star would you have liked to visit at his or her home?
  7. What is the favourite movie of your parents?
  8. During which movie’s shooting would you have liked to be a fly on the wall?
  9. Is there an actor or an actress who you’ve seen in every single movie they’ve ever appeared in?
  10. Whose Oscar ceremony speech is your favourite?
  11. Who did you receive your latest Liebster Award from?
10 thoughts on “My second Liebster Award is also here!

  1. Congrats on your second Leibster! Wonderful!

    You’ve posed some thought provoking questions, e.g. which movie star home would you most like to visit? I would have loved to visit Joel McCrae’s ranch in California’s Santa Rosa Valley. It would have been interesting to see a working ranch in that area.

    Like

    • Thank you, I’m happy you liked my questions! Yes, I admit that there’re a couple of hard ones, some that I myself might not be able to answer easily 🙂 I haven’t heard of this ranch before, but it seems to be an interesting one. As far as I can see, it’s functioning as a visitor’s centre now! Have you been there yet?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you very much for the nomination!

    I love your choice of Richard Haydn as underrated actor! I confess I didn’t even realize that he was the same man from the Sound of Music when I first watched Ball of Fire. Totally took me by surprise.

    Like

    • You’re very welcome! I was astonished when it turned out he was only 36 when he played Prof. Oddley, let alone when I discovered he was the same person as Max! I’ve just found out that he also played in “And Then There Were None” which we’ve been talking about lately 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, was he really only 36! That’s pretty amazing. I wonder how he ended up creating those two separate personas that he employed alternately. It must have made for a lot of fun as an actor, though.

        I forgot he was in that film! He was really great, though, so I should’t have. It makes me want to watch it again, both because we were talking about it recently and because of him. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Diana B

    Thank you so much for the nomination! This is so swell! Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply but I answered the questions and will post this weekend. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

